Health Blog Books News
The Shadow of What Was Lost - James Islington

The Shadow of What Was Lost

By James Islington

  • Release Date: 2016-07-19
  • Genre: Epic
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 474 Ratings

Description

A young man with forbidden magic finds himself drawn into an ancient war against a dangerous enemy in book one of the Licanius Trilogy, the series that fans are heralding as the next Wheel of Time.

As destiny calls, a journey begins.

It has been twenty years since the godlike Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them -- the Gifted -- are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he and his friends Wirr and Asha set into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is. . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius Trilogy is a series readers will have a hard time putting down -- a relentless coming-of-age epic from the very first page.

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."" -- Guardian

Reviews

  • Complicated

    3
    By jwmpc
    A lot of comparisons were made to “The Wheel Of Time” in the description of this book series. I found the comparison to be inverted, in that WOT begins simply, with archetypical characters while this series starts with intricate nuanced ones. WOT gradually adds to the complexities while this on gradually reduces them. Not sure which one I prefer.
  • At least the minimum of what a good fantasy book should be

    3
    By BluesHarpist
    5 stars are reserved for books that totally blow me away, or classics that I believe would have when they were new. I don’t give too many of these out, because it’s the highest rating that you could ever possibly give any book on here. 4 stars for books that I would recommend to just about anyone, or, at least, to someone who doesn’t dislike the genre. 3 stars for books that I would only recommend to someone who is fond of the genre. 2 stars for books that I would be hesitant to recommend to anyone at all, but the book was not a total disaster. 1 star for books that I found so terribly ridiculous, or poorly written, that I wish I had not spent time reading to begin with.
  • One and done

    3
    By dwgormly
    It took fully 2/3 of this book for me to like it and WANT to read more. It’s very much like listening to a five year old describe a dream—lots of new things happen with no explanation or exposition. Maybe that’s the author’s intent, but at 700 pages (iBook) it gets tiresome. I probably will not read the rest of the series.
  • Plot holes for days

    1
    By GSU17
    The ending was okay, but this book was absolutely bloated. It took forever to get through and there was so much menial information that it ruined the entire ending.
  • Best I’ve read in a long time

    5
    By Ccghibvcgghctr
    Engaging characters, non-stop action, great story arc, thought provoking dilemmas of fate and choice, faith and belief of evidence, well crafted and thought out structure to the magical environment. Couldn’t put it down until I was done with the last book. My COVID shelter in place savior!
  • Young adult fiction

    3
    By emacslrftw
    Starts out well, but lacks anything original. Later on it just becomes tedious young adult literature.
  • Excellent

    5
    By Madlax72
    After reading Brandon Sanderson’s cosmere books I found this gem. Excellent writing, a well paced and engaging story makes this an instant favorite of mine! Well done James Islington!
  • My absolute favorite book series ever!

    5
    By Gamewizard0601
    This is the most glorious book series I have ever read! It’s an advanced read with some politics mixed in but nothing that will be too terrible. The characters are relatable and the story is gripping throughout the entire 700 pages and stays that way throughout the second book. I recommend this book to literally every fan of fantasy books!
  • Exceptionally Good Irony and Plot Twists

    5
    By Micksp
    The format of the book was relatively simple, however it was the great character building of the author that really caught my attention. Each character felt unique and special in their sometime mystical ways. There was also a lot of dramatic irony, as is usual when the point of view shifts from character to character. Also the foreshadowing was brilliant, it's always so satisfying to look back on previous thing that were pointed out and relate them to your present page. Overall a great story well worth the money that I can't wait to hop into the next book!
  • Well Done

    5
    By Kingtrevor
    Great job weaving the story with the lore and history. Enjoyed the characters and their evolutions. Looking forward to more.

Comments